1. Welcome to TRD Forums! A community for Toyota, Lexus, and Scion Enthusiasts. To enjoy all the benefits of the site, we invite you to signup.

Tech Vista

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by e_andree, Jan 25, 2009.

1. Offline

e_andree E

Message Count:
    Vista

So....school me on Vista. Ive basically ignored it until the last few days.....now Im laptop shopping and everything is VISTA VISTA VISTA!
  2. Offline

MovieSTAR i hurd u liek?

Message Count:
    windows XP with support for the computer illiterate person...

im not a pro on it...but the general theory is "if i knew nothing about computers, how would i use an operating system"

example would be changing the desktop...its right click > personalize not properties. and in personalize you have all these user friendly names and options to use.
  3. Offline

1337Rolla oh my

Administrator
    Message Count:
    still think it sucks. performance is still below windows xp in most things.. especially games.

1. buy laptop
    2. install xp
    3. install windows 7 when it comes out
  4. Offline

KrypticKarma ~2001 Corrizm~

Message Count:
    Vista works pretty nice for me. I think its a little bit over "user friendly" making it more difficult to use.

I learned it runs like crap if you install all the updates.

So my advice to you if it runs slow or crappy reinstall a fresh copy and go to settings and go into windows updates or whatever and chang it to install only important updates.
  5. Offline

DrunkSaru Unsuspecting Poo Flinger

Message Count:
    i live vista, i like 7 even better.. although its beta
  6. Offline

GSE21tuner Formerly rollatuner110. Representing AZLexus.club

Message Count:
    Vehicles:
    07 Lexus IS350, 04 Lexus IS300
    Vista is a resources hog. I've never seen such an OS that sucks up that much resources to run. Unless you have your computer built properly, it could be slow due to Vista. I agree with CorollasBest. Nuke it, install XP, and then switch over to Windows 7 later.