1. Welcome to TRD Forums! A community for Toyota, Lexus, and Scion Enthusiasts. To enjoy all the benefits of the site, we invite you to signup.

Using the emergency light switch to power on my fog lights..

Discussion in 'Interior' started by cBass, Dec 14, 2011.

  1. Offline

    cBass buffalo bell lover

    Message Count:
    10,340
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    443
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicles:
    2005 Corolla XRS
    Ok so ive finally built my mounts for my 10th gen corolla fog lights....what i am trying to do is instead of using the stupid looking switch that came with it i want to use a second hazard light switch that i pulled off another corolla...
    [IMG]
    but im having a little trouble, im searching on the web for the pin out or a diagram that show what each pin leads to what. I dont know if this has been done before but i think its better than mounting the stupid switch it came with....
  2. Offline

    MacktasticSlick TRD whore with 36,000 posts, bitch

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    36,587
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    Trophy Points:
    61,028
    You don't have a rear defroster on your Corolla I'm guessing. That second panel is already taken by a fully functioning button on my car, so I can't really help.
  3. Offline

    Hummer Well-Known Member

    Message Count:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    828
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicles:
    E39 BMW
    Why dont you just wire in a new switch?
  4. Offline

    cBass buffalo bell lover

    Message Count:
    10,340
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    443
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicles:
    2005 Corolla XRS
    Yes i do have the rear defroster, i have it where the HVAC is, im guessing they relocated it on the 01-02 models...i have a blank dummy cover, the button is a switch and has a light mounted...i wanted to do that, it would be easy if i knew the pin out, guess ill have to go one by one...or try TN lol

    well the new switch is a universal switch, there is no spot to mount it and its very flimsy and crappy...i though having another hazard switch would make it look less ghetto mounted.
  5. Offline

    Hummer Well-Known Member

    Message Count:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    828
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicles:
    E39 BMW
    Drill a hole into the little storage bin cover that pops out on the left side by the steering wheel, thats where i put my switch. Then run the cable behind it.
  6. Offline

    MacktasticSlick TRD whore with 36,000 posts, bitch

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    36,587
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    Trophy Points:
    61,028
    That's where I have my fog lights, reverse indiglo, and OD, all in that little cup lol
  7. Offline

    Hummer Well-Known Member

    Message Count:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    828
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicles:
    E39 BMW
  8. Offline

    cBass buffalo bell lover

    Message Count:
    10,340
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    443
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicles:
    2005 Corolla XRS
    well it is a storage box....idk i guess ill do that just to power up my fogs in the mean time but i still want to do what i was thinking about...
  9. Offline

    Press22 Mangoooooooooooo

    Message Count:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Vehicles:
    E28 1JZ, E36 M3
    I bought a neat universal switch, drilled a hole and fitted it next to the steering wheel. Looks good. I was going to do the same thing as you but then I broke the switch part.
  10. Offline

    MacktasticSlick TRD whore with 36,000 posts, bitch

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    36,587
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    Trophy Points:
    61,028
    That's where I'm moving the overdrive to, under the wiper stalk somewhere.
  11. Offline

    cBass buffalo bell lover

    Message Count:
    10,340
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    443
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicles:
    2005 Corolla XRS
    i didnt want to use the drill....:(

    and isint the overdrive buttons useless? what the hell does it do anyways...ya ima noob i dont know
  12. Offline

    Goldy Well-Known Member

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    31,937
    Likes Received:
    2,830
    Trophy Points:
    61,468
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicles:
    Lexus IS300
    The overdrive button lets you shift your car like a manual (between 3rd and 4th gear)
  13. Offline

    Press22 Mangoooooooooooo

    Message Count:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    143
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Vehicles:
    E28 1JZ, E36 M3
    I use it all the time... lol
  14. Offline

    Goldy Well-Known Member

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    31,937
    Likes Received:
    2,830
    Trophy Points:
    61,468
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicles:
    Lexus IS300
    lol.

    But doesn't your car have any blank rectangles anywhere? So that you can put in a clean OEM universal rectangle switch? Doing it right and doing it wrong in the same pic:
    [IMG]
  15. Offline

    MacktasticSlick TRD whore with 36,000 posts, bitch

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    36,587
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    Trophy Points:
    61,028
    Pushing the O/D button (turning the light on the dash ON, kinda backwards I know- turning something off turns a light on lol) holds the tranny in third gear, which is good for hills on the freeway or passing. gold that's where I had mine for a while.
  16. Offline

    cBass buffalo bell lover

    Message Count:
    10,340
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    443
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicles:
    2005 Corolla XRS
    gold the switch looks exactly like that, i think its a match..

    hmm, cuz when i pressed mine no light turned on, when i pressed it my rpm just jumped....
  17. Offline

    MacktasticSlick TRD whore with 36,000 posts, bitch

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    36,587
    Likes Received:
    2,261
    Trophy Points:
    61,028
    Your light is probably just burned out. When it's pushed in it should drop to third gear, but only use it for steep grades or passing, because it'll kill your mileage. Ask a VE owner with a 3 speed (hummer lol).
  18. Offline

    Goldy Well-Known Member

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    31,937
    Likes Received:
    2,830
    Trophy Points:
    61,468
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicles:
    Lexus IS300
    I find that shifting the transmission manually like that to 3rd or 2nd gear gets you a better power than just stomping the pedal.
  19. Offline

    Hummer Well-Known Member

    Message Count:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    828
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicles:
    E39 BMW
    My mom has it on her CR-V and its always on.
    If you turn it off the light on the dash comes up "O/D Off, kinda annoying so i just leave it on lol.
  20. Offline

    cBass buffalo bell lover

    Message Count:
    10,340
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    443
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicles:
    2005 Corolla XRS
    well, i found out something, i did not even have a little bulb thingy in the OD spot, took it off from the rear windshield wiper bulb (did this gen even had that option) and it works...

    anyways im having a little trouble making the fog light turn on....
    [IMG]
    so here is where eveything is connected, the fogs go to the box thingy with the white/clear connector then from that to a fuse and then to the battery....a white cable then leads to the inside where it wires to this switch...
    [IMG]
    then im left with the 2 red cables that add up to make 1 and the ground....im assuming without grounding the black cable the switch wont work and the red is for the light on the switch? help me out guys...
  21. Offline

    Goldy Well-Known Member

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    31,937
    Likes Received:
    2,830
    Trophy Points:
    61,468
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicles:
    Lexus IS300
    The first pic is wired correctly.

    The second picture, the black is ground for the switch light, but the red wire is your power source for the relay that turns on the fogs. I ran my red wire to the A/C power going to the radio, so that like the radio, the fogs would receive power only when the key was turned. This way I could just leave the switch on all the time, and the lights would turn on/off automatically with the car. I believe the switch will light up with the fogs.
  22. Offline

    cBass buffalo bell lover

    Message Count:
    10,340
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    443
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicles:
    2005 Corolla XRS
    ok so is the red cable a 12v or 5v? and is it the same color on the radio harness? like i jump the red cable to a red cable from the radio wiring harness?
  23. Offline

    Goldy Well-Known Member

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    31,937
    Likes Received:
    2,830
    Trophy Points:
    61,468
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicles:
    Lexus IS300
    it is 12 volts. I'm not sure which wire it is behind the radio. I guess you have the stock radio still, so the wire won't be red.
  24. Offline

    cBass buffalo bell lover

    Message Count:
    10,340
    Likes Received:
    759
    Trophy Points:
    443
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Vehicles:
    2005 Corolla XRS
    yup stock..found this

    Car Radio Constant 12v+ Wire: Blue/Yellow
    Car Radio Switched 12v+ Wire: Gray
    Car Radio Ground Wire: Brown
    Car Radio Illumination Wire: Green

    im guessing wire it to the switched grey wire
  25. Offline

    Goldy Well-Known Member

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    31,937
    Likes Received:
    2,830
    Trophy Points:
    61,468
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicles:
    Lexus IS300
    Yup, run the black wire to the brown ground, and run the red wire to the gray switched. Done.
    cBass likes this.
  26. Offline

    Hummer Well-Known Member

    Message Count:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    828
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicles:
    E39 BMW
    Sounds like you got it, i was gonna say just wire it into the radio.
  27. Offline

    James Bullshit Police

    Moderator
    Message Count:
    15,347
    Likes Received:
    974
    Trophy Points:
    943
    Location:
    Vehicles:
    ZZE110, MA70, JZA70, GK2A, E34
    :please:
    :please:
    :please:

    Noobs.
  28. Offline

    Hummer Well-Known Member

    Message Count:
    26,891
    Likes Received:
    1,446
    Trophy Points:
    828
    Location:
    Oregon
    Vehicles:
    E39 BMW
  29. Offline

    James Bullshit Police

    Moderator
    Message Count:
    15,347
    Likes Received:
    974
    Trophy Points:
    943
    Location:
    Vehicles:
    ZZE110, MA70, JZA70, GK2A, E34
  30. Offline

    Goldy Well-Known Member

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    31,937
    Likes Received:
    2,830
    Trophy Points:
    61,468
    Location:
    Maryland
    Vehicles:
    Lexus IS300
    I still do it, but now with "paddle shifters" lol. Especially with the broken exhaust, it sounds boss.
    James likes this.

Share This Page