1. Welcome to TRD Forums! A community for Toyota, Lexus, and Scion Enthusiasts. To enjoy all the benefits of the site, we invite you to signup.

Power Door Locks

Discussion in 'Interior' started by TheOne, Jul 12, 2005.

1. Offline

TheOne Guest

Message Count:
    i have done it many times. i used to be an installer. as far as cost. i wouold say about 9-20 dollers per door, depending on were you get your parts. and then add 2 relays and a monetary switch cost for thoes items should be under 10.00, or you can just use the alarm to lock/unlock. so your total cost for a 2door if you do the labor should be somewere around 30-50 max. as far as deficaulty i would say if you can install an alarm. you should be ok. as long as you know how to do revers polarity door locks. please feel free to ask me ? if you need more help:)
  2. Offline

supaloop Guest

Message Count:
    Power Door Locks

Has anyone here ever converted your powered by yourself door locks to power door locks? If so, how is it done, what's the cost, and how is the install job like?
  3. Offline

Ninety Four New Member

Message Count:
    I definitely don't know how to install an alarm... I see kits online starting around $75-$100. If I took it to someone to install for me, I'd probably pay at least $150. I work from 8am until 7 some days, so, even if I knew how, there's no way in hell I could install it myself.
  4. Offline

TheOne Guest

Message Count:
    i see your problem. i guess if i had to pay to have them installed by someone a good price for 2 doors with parts and labor would be about 100.00 a very good deal would be 75-80
    and a bad/high price deal would be anything close to 150-180. hope this helps.
  5. Offline

KainAzeroth Guest

Message Count:
    Thanks

I was just about to ask the same question. I have a 2005 corolla CE and my idea was to go to one of the local car junk shops and just take the automatic locks and wires and switches, etc. from an LE or S model. Sound like a decent plan?