1. Welcome to TRD Forums! A community for Toyota, Lexus, and Scion Enthusiasts. To enjoy all the benefits of the site, we invite you to signup.

Engine 99 corolla engine questions

Discussion in 'Powertrain' started by 99corolla, Oct 2, 2009.

1. Offline

99corolla New Member

Message Count:
    99 corolla engine questions

hey guys whats up..im new to this just wanted to say hi and see if anyone can help ...got my car.... im working on a 1999 toyota corolla 1zzfe non vvti 5 speed i need to find out what should i start with to add some hp i know headers pulleys things like that but headers i see there no where to be found for a 99 corolla, pulleys i seen several places can anyone help with where and what parts i can get to add hp before turbo besides MWR i seen there headers were 700 dollars wwhich is hard to belive ..... im planning on adding turbo but thats on hold till tax time :) then ill do the setup for that but what else can i do in the meantime... also does anyone know the truth if non vvti is faster than the vvti i race my brothers 08 corolla vvti 5 speed as well and i always beat him. i tought vvti should be faster???? who has a 99 corolla thats turbbo on here.../?
  2. Offline

its_ikon FIRST widebody

Message Count:
    wowsers. one long sentence. you only need a single header versus multiple headers. what kind of realistic power are you looking for? maybe you should come up with a budget first and then go from there. why is this labeled asap? is it that important that it happens tomorrow?
  3. Offline

99corolla New Member

Message Count:
    no idk i was in a rush when i type didnt worry bout the asap didnt know it was a big deal as well.
  4. Offline

turbo4age Love to Hate me

Message Count:
    it must be the water out here in henderson... but i couldnt have said it better myself.

the vvti engine makes more power, but the OBVIOUS size and weight difference between the cars is the determining factor.