1. Welcome to TRD Forums! A community for Toyota, Lexus, and Scion Enthusiasts. To enjoy all the benefits of the site, we invite you to signup.

Engine 1ZZFE Stock Cam Specs look here!

Discussion in 'Powertrain' started by FriskyDingo, Dec 13, 2014.

  1. Offline

    FriskyDingo Active Member

    Message Count:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicles:
    2000 Corolla CE
    Found these on the website of cats cams, they're out of the uk.
    [IMG]
  2. Offline

    Rperformance_ New Member

    Message Count:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I got some doubts and questions... If the mr2 and celica have the same engine (1zz) is it possible to swap internals into my 1zz corolla 02 to reach the hp that they both output??? Please someone have an answer.
  3. Offline

    FriskyDingo Active Member

    Message Count:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicles:
    2000 Corolla CE
    The only difference in the blocks are the mr2/celica have lighter(weaker) cast rods to make it more rev happy.The real difference is in the heads which have bigger valves and slightly bigger cams (im not sure on the cams, i cannot confirm) and different programming in the ecu.Also the intake manifold was different and the throttle body a bit bigger.

    You can only run the celica/mr2 ecu if you have a manual trans as the autos between corollas and celicas were different and the ecu cannot control the trans.
  4. Offline

    Rperformance_ New Member

    Message Count:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have a 5 spd corolla 2002. So i have the math the year if i want to swap my ecu? And are speaking from experience ? Im looking into and im shopping around for an ecu. I have my headers that i need to install and get my pip done. Once thats in im getting air and fuel ratio tune
  5. Offline

    Rperformance_ New Member

    Message Count:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have a 5 spd corolla 2002. So i have the math the year if i want to swap my ecu? And are speaking from experience ? Im looking into and im shopping around for an ecu. I have my headers that i need to install and get my pip done. Once thats in im getting air and fuel ratio tune
  6. Offline

    FriskyDingo Active Member

    Message Count:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicles:
    2000 Corolla CE
    I'm speaking from what I've learned reading different sites but ask anyone on here whos done it and they will confirm what i've said.Theres no way to tune the stock toyota ecu, you have to get a standalone or a piggyback and theres no gain in putting a piggyback ecu on corolla ecu vs a celica ecu so save yourself some money.
  7. Offline

    MacktasticSlick TRD whore with 36,000 posts, bitch

    Administrator
    Message Count:
    36,587
    Likes Received:
    2,268
    Trophy Points:
    61,028
    I wish I had more money for internal stuff lol
  8. Offline

    FriskyDingo Active Member

    Message Count:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicles:
    2000 Corolla CE
    You gotta be patient and keep and eye out for deals, hit up other forums besides corolla ones for universal stuff like turbos and piggyback ecu's.For example if you want to do the intake manifold upgrade hit up a 9th gen forum where its a stock part and will sell for less than someone knowing you want it as an upgrade for your 8th gen.
  9. Offline

    Rperformance_ New Member

    Message Count:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    As far for the throttle body can i use the one on 9th gen corolla as well??
  10. Offline

    FriskyDingo Active Member

    Message Count:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicles:
    2000 Corolla CE
    You need to swap the throttle body and manifold.The 9th gen throttle body uses 4 bolts and ours uses 3 and the flanges are different.
  11. Offline

    Rperformance_ New Member

    Message Count:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Does the manifold bolt to the head directly?
  12. Offline

    FriskyDingo Active Member

    Message Count:
    237
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicles:
    2000 Corolla CE
    Yeah the manifold bolts to the head no problem.

Share This Page